Compromising Positions

A sex ed blog with more

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

I posted a couple of weeks ago, and one comment I got was a nomination for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. Seemed like a big deal, and I was amazed by my friend Stef who nominated me. Me? Really? But why? What is this award? Turns out the origins are somewhat unknown, but I like the idea of women nominating others to show their support and to create more connections. So thanks, Stef! So glad we met at Catalyst Con. You write a varied and insightful blog: http://advancedsearch-identity.com

I still don’t really know what this award is. But, apparently there are some instructions:

  1. Link to the blogger who nominated you and thank them, like the polite blogger that you are. 
  2. Nominate blogs that you looooove to read.
  3. Link to your chosen bloggers and leave a comment to let them know they’ve been nominated.  
  4. Include the award logo in your blog post. 
  5. Answer the ten questions listed below. 

1. What is your favourite color?

Deep purple. Or turquoise. It kinda depends on my mood.

2. What is your favorite animal?

ELEPHANTS. See? I also have a stuffed elephant that I have slept with every night since I was 11 except for a a couple of traveling expeditions.

elephant

3. What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink?

Coffee. Mmmmmm. I was so good about not drinking coffee until I spent a few very stressful weeks in Paris. Damn the French for their delicious food and drinks!

4. Do you prefer Facebook or Twitter?

Both? I use them differently. I have 2 Facebook accounts and a Twitter, though I’ll probably end up having 2 of those as well. Facebook is great for interacting with people aged 19-45 and really helps me keep in touch with people all over the world. Twitter is for professionals, primarily, and you can jump into a conversation without being invited.

I strongly recommend reading Jab Jab Jab, Right Hook by Gary Vaynerchuk. It’s all about how to use certain big social media sites to get your message out. Super helpful.  http://garyvaynerchuk.com/jjjrh/

5. What is your favourite pattern?

Polka dots. I should own more of those. I wear mostly solids, though. Is that what this question is about?

6. Do you prefer getting or giving presents?

Both. I like giving and getting well thought out presents. If there’s a lot of effort and thought put into the gifts, I’m happy.

7. What is your favourite number?

3. Not really sure why. Apparently it’s magical or something.

8. What is your favourite day of the week?

Thursday. It’s the day I was bor, and I do aquafit on Thursdays which makes me feel accomplished and feeds my soul cause I get to hang out with my dear friend Carolyn.

9. What is your favourite flower?

ummmmm pretty ones? I would much prefer to receive one flower picked from a lawn than a bouquet. I love wild flowers. I also like flowers that are planted and still living rather than in a vase.

10. What is your passion?

Ugh. I hate this question. We place so much emphasis on passion. While I agree that we should be doing things that make us happy, we are happier with whatever we do once we have a firm grasp on what it is that is required of us i.e. once we have the skills to back it up. Cal Newport wrote an entire book about this entitled So Good They Can’t Ignore You: Why Skills Trump Passion in Finding Work You Love. Basically, he says that the more time and effort we put into something, we better we feel about the outcomes. If we don’t put work into getting better at something, we won’t get better and won’t enjoy it no matter what it is.

I’ve been told that one of my strengths is that I can be passionate about a LOT of things simultaneously and one passion doesn’t take away from the other. I have a tonne of passions: sex ed, drinking coffee, laughing, CISV, pushing my boundaries, personal development, strong relationships, learning. I’m passionate about all of these things because I put in the effort

And now I get to nominate others. I don’t think there are any real restrictions on who or how many to nominate, so I’m simply going to share some blogs that I like. I don’t spend a tonne of time perusing blogs, so these are the few that I regularly read. I like these 3 blogs for different reasons: Suggestive Tongue makes me think about my romantic relationship, Out There gives me intelligent, thoughtful insight into current university student life and Willful & Wayward is full of ALL kinds of things – it’s super varied, interesting and feminist.

Lorelei – Suggestive Tongue

Erin – Out There

Cameron – Willful & Wayward

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .
